Answered By: B L
Last Updated: Oct 11, 2017     Views: 120

Joseph L. Goldstein, winner of the 1985 Nobel in Medicine/Physiology for his research on cholesterol metabolism, was born on 18 April 1940 in Sumter.  Kary B. Mullis, winner of the 1993 Nobel in Chemistry for research on DNA cloning, was born on 28 December 1944 in Lenoir, North Carolina, and grew up in Columbia.  Charles H. Townes, winner of the 1964 Nobel in Physics and co-inventor of the laser, was born on 28 July 1915 in Greenville.  Robert Furchgott, winner of the 1998 Nobel in Medicine/Physiology for his discoveries concerning nitric oxide as a signalling molecule in the cardiovascular system, was born on 4 June 1916 in Charleston.

Sources: The Nobel Scientists: A Biographical Encyclopedia;